Rajinikanth, Sania, Priyanka Chopra honoured with Padma awards

   Padma awards
  Gurgaon, the corporate hub of Haryana on the outskirts of Delhi, will now be known as ‘Gurugram.’

This decision has been taken by the Manohar Lal Khattar government which claimed today that people of the area have been making a demand in this regard.

The decision to change the name of Gurgaon to ‘Gurugram’ has been taken on the basis of the representations received at several fora that it would be appropriate to rename Gurgaon as Gurugram, an official spokesman said.

“Haryana is a historic land of the Bhagwat Gita and Gurgaon had been a centre of learning,” the spokesman said.

“It had been known as Gurgaon since the times of Guru Dronacharya. Gurgaon was a great center of education where the princes used to be provided education. Therefore, since long the people of the area had been demanding that Gurgaon be renamed as Gurugram,” he reasoned.

The government also decided to rename Mewat district as Nuh.

Mewat, in fact is a geographical and cultural unit and not a town. It is spread beyond Haryana in the adjoining states of Uttar Pradesh and Rajasthan, the spokesman said.

The Headquarters of Mewat district is at Nuh town. The people of area and the elected representatives had been demanding that the name of Mewat be changed as Nuh, he further said.
Sania Mirza, who was awarded the Padma Bhushan, is the fourth Indian tennis player to receive the Padma Bhushan. Vijay Amritraj, Ramanathan Krishnan and doubles legend Leander Paes had earlier been honoured with both Padma Shri and Padma Bhushan. Sania was conferred with Padma Shri in 2006.
 “Humbled. Honoured. And truly thankful .. #PadmaBhushan,” Sania tweeted later.

Bhargava, Jain, Blackwill, Narayan, Manipuri playwright Heisnam Kanhailal, noted Telugu and Hindi litterateur Yarlagadda Lakshmi Prasad, teacher of Vedanta Dayananda Saraswati (posthumous), leading sculptor Ram Vanji Sutar, Indologist N S Ramanuja Tatacharya and International head of Chinmaya Mission Swami Tejomayananda were honoured with Padma Bhushan.
Nikam, former President of Editors Guild of India Dhirendra Nath Bezboruah, renowned novelist from Karnataka S L Bhyrappa, Puducherry-based social worker Madeleine Herman de Blic, president of Bodo Sahitya Sabha Kameswar Brahma were among the 40 eminent persons who were given the Padma Shri.